Photographs London Westminster Abbey

On three sides of Parliament Square, there are the centres of the British legislature and government (the Houses of Parliament in the Palace of Westminster), bureaucracy (the Treasury), and judiciary (the Supreme Court). The fourth pillar, or side, of the square is occupied by Westminster Abbey, a sacral, symbolic place. Perhaps Parliament Square is a microcosm of British constitution and history.